Senator Kennedy

A small footnote to the Senator Edward Kennedy story occurred when I was doing a book on American Catholics (“Catholics USA”) and interviewing people both known and unknown. Many knew the Senator was a practising Catholic (despite the peccadilloes), of his weekly attendance at mass and his mother’s wish that he enter the priesthood. It was my dream to interview him.

Well, you don’t do a book by dreaming, so I grasped courage in both hands and tracked down his Washington,  DC office number, called and asked to speak with a secretary. A very gracious voice came on the line, and after hearing me out, she suggested putting the request in writing and she would show it to him. After a few more calls for personal data,  she called to say that the Senator would give me an interview,  but because of a busy schedule, he would like to do it in written question/answer form.

I happily agreed and that was the form the interview took.The experience was so pleasant that he instantly became my favorite Kennedy. He was attached to his religion and brought distinction to the book.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment